Scrutiny Committee

Meeting to be held on 13 June 2014

Electoral Division affected: All

Scrutiny Committee: Chair and Deputy Chair, Membership, and Terms of Reference

(Appendix 'A' refers)

Contact for further information: Josh Mynott, 01772 534580, Office of the Chief Executive josh.mynott@lancashire.gov.uk

Executive Summary and Recommendation

The Committee is asked: to note:

- i. the appointment of County Councillor B Winlow and County Councillor A Barnes as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the municipal year;
- ii. The membership of the Committee following the County Council's annual meeting; and
- iii. The Terms of Reference of the Committee.

Background and Advice

The County Council at its annual meeting on 15 May 2014 agreed that the Committee shall comprise 13 County Councillors (on the basis of 6 Labour members, 1 Liberal Democrat member, 5 Conservative members, and 1 independent member). Nominations of County Councillors to serve on the Committee have been submitted to the County Secretary and Solicitor by the respective political groups.

The County Councillors appointed to serve on the committee for the following year are:

Alyson Barnes Richard Newman-Thompson David O'Toole Clare Pritchard Vivien Taylor David Watts Carl Crompton Liz Oades Miles Parkinson John Shedwick Christian Wakeford George Wilkins

Bill Winlow



The Full Council also appointed County Councillor B Winlow and County Councillor A Barnes as Chair and Deputy Chair of the Committee for the remainder of the 2014/15 municipal year.

A copy of the Committee's Terms of Reference is attached at Appendix 'A'.

Consultations

N/A

Implications:

This item has the following implications, as indicated:

Risk management

There are no risk management implications arising from this item.

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers

Paper Date Contact/Directorate/Tel

Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate

N/A